Ventia announced today it had signed a contract with Auckland Council (the Council) to deliver full facilities management to two of its five regions.

The contract is valued at approximately NZ$266 million (AUD$253 million) over an initial, five-year period with further five, one year options. Ventia will manage the maintenance of the Council's assets which includes parks, buildings and community facilities such as libraries, community halls, pools and public toilets, as well as sports field renovations.

Ventia will use its technology-enabled asset management expertise combined with a direct labour force and selected subcontractors to deliver the services in alignment with Auckland Council's strategic objectives.

Ventia has planned procurement processes that will support the local economy, and by working closely with Auckland Council's local boards and various community groups (including youth, disadvantaged, local, Mana Whenua, iwi and co-governance entities) endeavors to establish long-term and sustainable outcomes through strong and effective working partnerships.

Ventia's Chief Executive Officer, Mike Metcalfe, said that being awarded the long-term contract for two of Auckland's five regions illustrated the company's growing reputation in facilities management and that Ventia was well positioned to deliver an excellent outcome for the Council.

"We are very proud to be awarded the contract and are already working in partnership with the Council to ensure a smooth transition for all involved.

Our mobilisation team on the ground in Auckland is actively collaborating with key stakeholders to ensure the delivery of exceptional standards of asset management for the Council and its local communities.

Ventia's contract officially commences on 1 July 2017 to undertake services in two regions - the local board areas of Howick, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki, ÅŒrākei, Waitemata, Devonport-Takapuna, Hibiscus & Bays, Kaipātiki and Upper Harbour.

Pictured above: Ventia is on the ground in Auckland and has commenced contract mobilisation ahead of the 1 July 2017 contract commencement date. L to R: Claire Barrett, Michael Warren, Brett Smith, Anna Valencia, Simon Herbert, Richard Oakes, Stephen Thomson, Elizabeth Johnsen, Clayton Henry, Nick Sinclair, Henry Arundel, Peter Allen, Tom Haszard and Hamish Inglis.